Skip to content

Instant Happy Recipes

June 30, 2010

Hi friends,

 Homewarming has moved to new home here.

(http://tesathome.com/)

Thanks,
Tes

You might have packages of instant noodle lying around the kitchen, but the plain noodle might not interest you. Even in the rush hour we need something more than just a quick bite. When I’m busy at work, I hate to eat a cold turkey sandwich or some instant noodle form the cup. I want a good meal but instantly good meal. So what I did in the kitchen when I had a pile of work on the laptop and the household work in front of me. Yes, I go for instant noodle but an upgrade version. And what would I do if I want some good snacks in the middle of the night or late afternoon which are not from the boring packages. I love everything homemade. So we make flat doughnuts!

Upgrade Instant Noodle: (2 serving)

2 packages Instant noodle of your choice

200 gm chicken- sliced

2 1/2 cup Chicken stock

1/2 cup- sliced Cabbage

1/2 cup- beans Sprout

Few celery leaves or scallion- chopped

Salt & pepper to taste 

Bring chicken stock to boil in the medium pot.

Add chicken and cook for 5 minutes or until chicken is cooked.

Add cabbage and sprout.

Add noodle and let it submerge in the liquid.

Cook further until the noodle is soft and cooked.

Season with salt and pepper.

Spring some celery leaves or scallion over and eat!

 

Flat Doughnuts: (Make about 20)

1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1 tsp baking powder

2 tbsp melted butter

2 tbsp sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla essence

Oil for frying

Whisk sugar, egg, vanilla essence and butter together until sugar is dissolved.

Sift in whole wheat flour and baking powder and mix well.

Form the dough with your hand and knead gently for few minutes.

Divide the dough into about 20 parts and roll out into thin flat circle sheet.

Heat oil in the pan over the medium heat and fry these round sheets until golden brown.

Serve them hot plain or with icing sugar or jam.

Happy Wednesday everyone!

Hi friends,

 Homewarming has moved to new home here.

(http://tesathome.com/)

Thanks,
Tes

22 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2010 10:42 pm

    Instant Noodles my favorite snack! http://suburbhomestead.wordpress.com/

  2. July 3, 2010 1:10 pm

    Hi Tes,
    My husband (who doesn’t cook!) invented our favorite noodle upgrade:

    Brown chunks of tofu in oil, sprinkle some of the noodle seasoning on tofu.

    Stir in frozen or fresh chopped spinach.

    Drain cooked noodles and toss with tofu and spinach and add remaining seasoning to taste.

    This is a regular meal in our house and is FAST to make.

    Tess

  3. July 2, 2010 12:41 pm

    What a brilliant idea – “upgrading” instant noodles! I might have to buy a packet just so I can make this :D

  4. July 1, 2010 7:49 pm

    Tes, those flat doughnuts look great…great photo’s of the family…:) He sure does love your cooking!

  5. July 1, 2010 2:26 am

    Hi Tes!

    Those flat donuts look delicous! will have to try that out asap :)

    Thanks for sharing!

  6. July 1, 2010 12:29 am

    What a great idea! Looks pretty tasty! I’ve been lazy with adding my recipes to my blog lately… must catch up! :-)

  7. July 1, 2010 12:15 am

    The flat doughnuts look brilliant. I’ve never seen them like that, but I’m keen to try them. Thanks Tes!

  8. June 30, 2010 11:35 pm

    Cute photo of little one!!!! :) I couldn’t get past him

  9. June 30, 2010 11:28 pm

    You have such awesome recipes and I love coming here. Thanks for sharing :)

  10. June 30, 2010 9:51 pm

    Those flat doughnuts look sooo good! There is something about homemade doughnuts that is out of this world! And I’m glad I’m not the only one who likes to jazz up instant noodles, I love it!

  11. lifeinarecipe permalink
    June 30, 2010 8:49 pm

    I too upgrade my instant noodle soups…it’s a great way to use up leftovers too! The doughnuts look yummy…I’ll be giving them a try!

  12. incidentalcooksuman permalink
    June 30, 2010 7:14 pm

    both the recipes are very nice..even we spice up our maggi instant noodles..my hubby do not like that plain packet stuff…and donut looks yummie..perfect to munch on anytime…

  13. June 30, 2010 5:52 pm

    I’ve got to try those noodles on my kids. I haven’t had them since university when that was about all we ate because that was all we could afford. I think they would love them.

    I want to make the flat doughnuts and sprinkle them with cinnamon and sugar.

    Looks like a lovely meal.

    • June 30, 2010 5:55 pm

      The kids will be so happy. Yes, the flat doughnuts will be so good with cinnamon & powder sugar.

  14. June 30, 2010 5:30 pm

    I used to eat those instant noodles all the time and never thought to upgrade them! Your variation makes a satisfying meal.

    Mmm, those flat doughnuts…I want to make those. They look so crispy and good!

  15. June 30, 2010 4:08 pm

    Those doughnuts looks so good. I can see how they’d be really good with the various toppings.

    And it’s always nice to be able to add different things to instant noodles, making an easy upgraded meal.

  16. feastonthecheap permalink
    June 30, 2010 3:41 pm

    A total upgrade on the Ramen Noodles i LIVED ON in college! Love this.

  17. June 30, 2010 3:18 pm

    Flat Doughnuts – SUPER!!!!Thanks so much, tired of buying cookies, wanted to do something like that for a long time, will try this weekends. Sounds and looks great!

  18. limelicious permalink
    June 30, 2010 3:15 pm

    Good idea for the noodles! I was introduced to Ramen in my sophomore year of high school, and have loved it since then, but sometimes it needs some sprucing up!

    Do you think it would be possible to fill these flat doughnuts- with jam, or chocolate, or pastry cream- or would it get too messy?? I’m tempted to experiment but I’m not sure how it would end, haha!

    • June 30, 2010 3:43 pm

      We haven’t try filling them, but they are great with cream, jam, chocolate, etc. I really like the suggestion of filling them with these stuffs. I don’t think they will be messy… I think they will look amazing.

  19. June 30, 2010 2:06 pm

    Omigosh, this is about the only way I ever eat instant noodles…with the upgrade! :) Either by throwing in some fresh sliced onions, tofu, a poached egg, or whereever my heart takes me that day! I am also glad to see I’m not the only one!

  20. June 30, 2010 12:59 pm

    Glad to know I’m not the only one who upgrades the instant noodles from time to time. :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

