Skip to content

Egg Bhurji and My New Coasters

July 5, 2010

Hi friends,

 Homewarming has moved to new home here.

(http://tesathome.com/)

Thanks,
Tes

Egg Bhuri is an Indian spicy scramble egg. It is hot and spicy, so you might be surprised to know that it is one of Yaseen’s favourite dishes. Living here, he grows accustomed to the taste and flavour of India. So he loves the taste of masala and spices. The actual Egg Bhurgi in India is spicier and intense in flavour more than the one in my recipe. I tried to adapt it to make it quick and easy with less spicy so the whole family can enjoy.

Egg Bhurji

Ingredients: (2 servings)
Eggs – 4
½ tbsp Garam masala powder ( A basic blend of ground spices common in Indian and other South Asian cuisines. It is available in the package in Indian or Asian grocery stores.)
1 Onion – chopped
1 Tomato – chopped
Few Fresh coriander chopped
1 tbsp Vegetable oil
Salt to taste

Method:

In the pan on the medium heat add oil. When the oil is hot sauté onion until it is soft and transparent. Add tomato and cooked for a few second, add garam masala and salt to taste. Cook until tomato is soft and the masala aromatic fragrance infused. 

Beat eggs and salt quickly and add to the pan. Stir continuously and cook till egg is well done.

Serve with toast or bread.

Today I made these coasters! I have to admit that I am not a very patient person. I only know the basic knitting. I had 3 hours free in the morning, so I finish 6 coasters. I want to try making placemats next weekend.

Do you make crafts at home? Do you have time to create something at home?

Hi friends,

 Homewarming has moved to new home here.

(http://tesathome.com/)

Thanks,
Tes

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2011 2:46 pm

    Hi, I’m new I would like to welcome all… :)

  2. July 9, 2010 9:52 pm

    Lovely coasters, very cheerful! I’m not a crafts person myself. Cooking is the only “craft” I do.

    I love eggs for lunch and will try this, I bought Garam Masala in England, where there is a large Indian community, although I think it’s also available in some supermarkets in the Netherlands.

  3. July 6, 2010 1:26 am

    Those coasters are so bright and happy and wonderful! Well done! I do a little bit of cross-stitching, but my housemate is more of a crafter than me. Ah well, can’t win ‘em all :P

  4. July 6, 2010 12:08 am

    Yum, I love spicy eggs! Tes, your coasters look fantastic. I tried to knit once, but I’m left-handed and it was really messy. I look forward to seeing your placemats!

  5. July 5, 2010 8:23 pm

    That egg recipe looks amazing! I’m definitely trying it soon. I’m also pretty sure I have all the ingredients for it, too! :D

    Your coasters are so pretty! They look like flowers. I love making stuff, too, but I don’t always have time these days.

  6. July 5, 2010 7:50 pm

    Another tasty recipe…and love the crafts! I haven’t had time much for knitting, but I still do lots of sewing for my online shop…the link is on my blog if you want to check out the latest things I have been creating. Good for you…I can’t wait to see the place mats!

  7. July 5, 2010 6:17 pm

    I can’t wait to try these eggs! It seems the ONLY spice I do NOT have in my kitchen is Garam masala powder. hahaha.

    I like the coasters! No, I do not knit. I can crochet a little but never got the feel for knitting. :(

  8. July 5, 2010 5:21 pm

    I know this a food blog but I love the coasters….also, egg burji…you are convincing me that you are part Indian :)

  9. July 5, 2010 4:53 pm

    O those coasters are so pretty! :)

  10. July 5, 2010 4:04 pm

    I am actually attracted more to those coasters. I want to learn how to do that someday
    very nice Tes!

  11. July 5, 2010 3:34 pm

    Cute coasters. I get into crafty moods when I’ll do some knitting, but haven’t gotten into any projects for many months. (I’ve been blogging and cooking much more than making crafts lately.)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

