Skip to content

Homemade Pasta with Mushroom and Asparagus

July 6, 2010

Hi friends,

 Homewarming has moved to new home here.

(http://tesathome.com/)

Thanks,
Tes

Homemade pasta is something to cheer your kid up. Nothing stop Yaseen from running around the house making a mess like show him a big plate of freshly made pasta with rich hearty meat sauce.

Making pasta seems to a lot of work. “Why can’t I just snug a bag of dry spaghetti from my pantry and drop them in the boiling water? Won’t it do the justice?” if you haven’t tried the fresh pasta, you wouldn’t know how different and amazing the fresh pasta is. The soft, moist, home-warm type of food you dream about is actually very simple to make.

Pasta dough is so simple that it will take you less time than making pasta sauce itself.

Pasta dough rules: add 2 egg with every cup of flour. This can easily feed 2 people. But trust me you will need at lease 6 eggs and 3 cup of flour to feed a hungry family of 4 like mine.

(Serving 4-6)

2 cup Flour

4 large Eggs

1/2 tsp salt

How to make this heavenly strings….

You need to have a large clean working space. Add 2 cup of flour in the large mixing bowl.

Make a well in the pile of flour and crack the eggs in. Mix together with your hand. Knead by hands until dough becomes smooth and pliable, add more flour if necessary.

Let the dough rest for 10 minutes giving you time to clear up space.

Roll out the dough as thin as you can. Spring a little flour on top of the surface before cut it into thinly long strips. Make sure every strip is separated from on others.

Cooking pasta:

Boil water in the large pot with salt. When the water is furiously boiled drop your pasta and cook for 2- 3 minutes. Check by eating them. The pasta should be tender and cook thoroughly from the inside. Strain out the water and use this delicious pasta for your recipe. If you don’t you it immedietly, toss it with some butter.

Pasta with Mushroom and Asparagus

Ingredients:

200 gm Button Mushroom- sliced

1 big bunch of Asparagus- sliced into 2 inches

1 Onion- diced

4 cloves Garlic- minced

1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce

1 cup chicken stock or vegetable stock

1 tsp ground black pepper

3 tbsp cream

2 tbsp butter

Heat butter in the large pan with drizzle of cooking oil to prevent butter from burning.

Add onion and sauté until transparent and add garlic. Stir for one minute.

Add mushroom and stir.

Add asparagus and stir.

Add Worcestershire, black pepper and a cup of stock. Simmer for 3 minutes.

Add cream and stir then turn off the heat.

Dump pasta in and mix well.

Serve hot and enjoy!

This might not be our favourite pasta sauce, but it’s simply delicious. What’s your favourite pasta sauce?

Hi friends,

 Homewarming has moved to new home here.

(http://tesathome.com/)

Thanks,
Tes

22 Comments leave one →
  1. eco mom permalink
    May 19, 2011 9:23 pm

    DO you think this could work with rice flour or sweet rice flour? We can’t eat wheat here. I can’t eat eggs, but the hubby and kids do.

    • May 20, 2011 5:12 am

      I haven’t tried it with rice flour or sweet rice flour yet, though it sounds like a great idea! I used to try making rice noodle once using the same technique but without eggs, the flour didn’t hold the shape well. I think with eggs, it might work. Let me try it out and I will let you know… You can also try it in small batch first… maybe like 1 cup flour, 1 egg and some water… PS: I have move my website to http://www.tesathome.com Have a nice day, Tes

  2. July 9, 2010 8:11 am

    i always assumed making homemade pasta would mean a lot of work but your post inspired me to give it a try! my noodles were pretty good for a first try – i’ll be making my own more often now, thanks to you!!

    like many of your other readers, pesto is one of my favorite pasta sauces, but i like making my own pestos, not neccessarily with basil. i just pick a bunch of herbs, some nuts, garlic, olive oil and lemon juice, and usually some parmesan, and i blend them all up together in my tiny food processor. my favorite combination is cilantro and pistachio!

  3. Dobsessed permalink
    July 8, 2010 6:30 pm

    Yuuum!

  4. July 8, 2010 2:43 am

    love your homemade pasta, and your sauce is delish..love the step by steps ..i need to try this soon..

    sweetlife

  5. incidentalcooksuman permalink
    July 7, 2010 5:15 pm

    nothing can be better than this home made pasta..looks wonderful…liked the step by step pictorial..very helpful…

  6. July 7, 2010 12:31 pm

    Oh, yummy, yummy, that looks irresistible! Your baby is sooo sweet! :) Petra

  7. July 7, 2010 12:24 pm

    That looks amazing! I’m hungry for pasta and it is 8:00 in the morning here. :-)

  8. July 7, 2010 3:29 am

    tes home made pasta.. what a wonderful job u did…u have a good assistant too.the sauce sounds delicious.. really yummy.. i like the mushroom n pasta combo.. hope ur little one really enjoyd it..
    nice coasters u made..(last post)

  9. July 7, 2010 1:39 am

    By the way, I just passed a blogger award onto you, Tes. =) The details are on my blog, but thank you for having a blog that I look forward to every day!

  10. July 7, 2010 12:07 am

    I love the imagery that goes with your recipes…it truly capture the eye and MOUTH!!!! Have a great day :)

  11. July 7, 2010 12:04 am

    OMG!!! tes this is soooo great!!! I will try this for sure!!!

  12. July 6, 2010 11:55 pm

    Mmm. Those homemade noodles look really good.

    I made an olive oil-based sauce tonight, which had garlic, basil, rosemary, baby eggplant, and tomato. I wanted to try something different from my typical tomato sauce.

  13. July 6, 2010 8:35 pm

    You make it look easy, Tes! I always end up with dry dough – I think I only use one egg per cup, so will have to try it your way…

  14. Cynthia permalink
    July 6, 2010 6:28 pm

    Your kids make it look so easy! I want to take a stab at it myself.

  15. July 6, 2010 5:38 pm

    I love how you made your noodles from scratch. I bet they are so much fresher and delicious that way!

    I live for pesto, and I also love just plain marinara with lots of veggies. :D

  16. July 6, 2010 5:08 pm

    Beautiful! You are so impressive in the kitchen! I don’t know where you find the time! Gorgeous photos, as well!

    My favorite pasta sauce is either bolognese or pesto!

  17. July 6, 2010 11:48 am

    Thanks for this great post tes! I’d been toying with the idea of making my own homemade pasta and now that you’ve revealed to me how painfully simple it is i’ll be picking up some whole wheat flower at the grocery today and trying it out with some of the leftover pasta sauce i made sunday :)

    Thanks for sharing!

  18. July 6, 2010 11:46 am

    Yummmm! That looks delicious!

  19. July 6, 2010 10:35 am

    Your step-by-step pictures are so helpful! I’ve never made my own pasta, I seems like so much work, but your method is really easy to follow. I’ll have to try now! :)

    I love basil pesto with pasta, mixed with chicken and mushrooms – yum!

  20. July 6, 2010 10:25 am

    I’ve just made fresh pasta for dinner, great minds think alike! Looks delicious Tes! :)

Trackbacks

  1. Homemade Pasta with Mushroom and Asparagus (via Homewarming) «

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

