Mango and Sticky Rice

I can’t think of anything speaks summer like a warm creamy coconut rice with  cool slices of sweet mango. It’s a Thai favourite summer recipe. Making one is so easy, I think anyone can do it.

Ingredients: For 4 servings

For Coconut rice

1 cupThai Sticky rice (Sweet glutinous rice)

1/2 cup sugar

1 cup coconut milk

A pinch of salt

2 pendal leaves- optional

4 large ripe mangos- chilled in refrigerator

Coconut cream for dressing

Method:

Soak sticky rice over night.

Drain and steam rice for 20 minutes or until it is transparent and cook.

Heat coconut milk and sugar with a pinch of salt in the medium sauce pan and bring to boil. Throw in pendal leave and make sure sugar is dissolved.

Add cooked rice and stir until liquid is evaporated and absorbed in rice. The result should be like a really thick risotto.

Discard the pendal leaves and leave it to cool.

Place some rice in the serving plate.

Peel and slice the mango in.

Pour in some more coconut cream.

I know you will enjoy this!

Waiting for the sweet rice & mango…

Got it!

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Lisa says:

    I love mangoes. I’ll have to try this!

  2. Suzanne says:

    This rice looks yummy more like a dessert for me 🙂 Thanks for visiting my blog.

  3. Hi Tes, this recipe looks delicious, I am in Australia and it is winter so mangoes are unavailable at the moment but when summer rolls around i will definitely try this one. It combines two of my favourite foods. Mango and sticky rice!

  4. michelletranny says:

    thanks for posting this — i’ve been looking for a mango sticky rice recipe!

    p.s. your baby is adorable

  5. ~ calista ~ says:

    This looks delicious – my son would love it!

  6. I really appreciate you sharing your mango and sticky rice recipe! I often enjoy having it as a dessert at Thai restaurants that serve it here in the U.S. It really looks tasty and I can’t wait to make it at home!

  7. andresrcastello says:

    You’re so lucky to be there! I bet the fruit tastes a million times better than back here in the states…

    1. Tes says:

      Local and seasonal are the best!

      1. literarydelights says:

        Yes they are! But we don’t have local mangos here 😦 I’m going to try this recipe anyway, though. I LOVE mango with sticky rice– thanks for the recipe!

  8. Sarah - For the Love of Food says:

    I absolutely love this dish and it’s a great one to make for vegan friends!

  9. zoomyummy says:

    Yay, this looks so delish. And special. Yummy, indeed. Your baby is so cute and sweet. 🙂 Petra

Leave a Reply

