Chicken and Cashew Nuts Stir Fry

Hi friends,

 Homewarming has moved to new home here.

(http://tesathome.com/)

Thanks,
Tes

Have you ever seen cashew nut fruits? They look just like apple with the seeds hanging at the bottoms. Cashew nuts are really good source of healthy monounsaturated fat that promotes good cardiovascular health. They are also rich in antioxidants which are really great for our body.

 

We love stir fry chicken with cashew nuts, in the sweet and mild chili paste. It’s an authentic Thai dish we love and it is very easy to make. Don’t feel discourage when you see that we use authentic ingredients like Thai chili paste which might not be easy to find in your area. If you have an access to Thai or Asian grocery store, then it’s good. If you don’t, I will help you make the easy homemade paste. Thai chili paste is so easy to make and you can store them in refrigerator for really long time.

Once you have this spicy and sweet chili paste, and then we can make this yummy dish.

Thai chili paste:

½ cup tamarind paste

1/3 cup dried shrimp- ground – optional

1/3 cup sliced garlic

1 cup shallots

10 dried red chili peppers- discarded seed

½ cup sugar

5 tbsp salt or 2 tsp salt

1/3 cup peanut butter

½ cup water

1 cup oil

Heat a wok over the medium heat and add oil.

Add garlic and sauté until lightly yellow.

Add chilies and fry for few second. Do not let it burn.

Add shallot and sauté until soft and transparent.

Turn off the heat. Transfer the sauté ingredient in the blender with 1/2 cup of water and blend until smooth paste.

Heat the same wok with the remaining oil over the medium heat. Add the paste back to the pan.

Add ground dried shrimp, sugar, tamarind paste, fish sauce (or salt), and peanut butter.

Stir for 20-30 minutes, until the mixture become think and grainy and a thin layer of oil appear on the surface.

Cool down and store in the clean jar in refrigerator and use whenever you want.

Now that we have the chili paste, grasp a wok!

Chicken and Cashew Nuts Stir Fry

Ingredients: (4 servings)

300 gm boneless chicken- sliced

50 gm cashew nut- halved

1 onion- sliced

4 cloves garlic- crushed

4 dried red chilies

1 tbsp Thai chili paste

1 tsp sugar

1 tbsp soy sauce

1 tbsp fish sauce or to taste

2 tbsp oil

Heat oil in the pan over the medium-high heat and add oil.

Add cashew nuts, and fry until golden brown then remove from the pan and keep aside.

Add dried chili and fry until lightly burn then remove from the pan and keep aside.

Add garlic and sauté until golden brown.

Add chicken and stir for few second.

Add chili paste, sugar, soy sauce and fish sauce and stir for 5 minutes or until chicken is cooked. Add 2-3 tbsp of water of it is too dry.

Add onion and stir for 1 minute.

Add fried cashew nuts and fried chilies and mix well.

Serve this delicious stir fried chicken and cashew nuts over rice with your favourite vegetable side dish.

Hi friends,

 Homewarming has moved to new home here.

(http://tesathome.com/)

Thanks,
Tes

59 Comments Add yours

  1. If you want to get social bookmarking backlinks that will help skyrocket your website search engine ranking straight to the top, check out this site http://socialbookmarksubmission.org/

  2. tastydesu says:

    This looks fantastic! I can’t wait to try it out! Have you ever tried cashew juice? It’s a very interesting flavor and made from the top part of the cashew fruit.

    1. Tes says:

      I’ve tried that! It’s really amazing. But I really didn’t like it despite a lot of people do love it!

  3. lifeinarecipe says:

    The recipe looks great especially the sauce. However, the real scene stealer for us was seeing how the cashews grew! Thanks for the education and the recipes!

    1. Tes says:

      Thanks for commenting. I’m glad you enjoy it.

  4. I'm Allergic says:

    I’d have to make some variations because of my allergies, but this dish looks fab, Tes! Mmm…and cashews are a staple in my house! Roasted, salted, unsalted, raw…whatever…I love ’em! Thanks for sharing!

    1. Tes says:

      Thanks for visiting today. I hope you love the cashew nuts.

  5. I absolutely love cashews in my stir-fry!

    1. Tes says:

      Thanks for commenting. I hope you enjoy the recipe.

  6. I love the photo of the cashew nut tree.
    Thanks for all the nice comments on my blog. Your blog makes me want to travel more.

    1. Tes says:

      Thanks for visiting. I hope we can share more stories and delicious recipes soon.

  7. That looks lovely and oh so tasty! Really cool info about how cashews grow- I had no idea! Also, thanks for the red chili paste recipe, I have always wanted to make some for myself!

    1. Tes says:

      Thanks for visiting. I hope you enjoy making the homemade paste.

  8. Mmm….that looks amazing! (and so do all the other recipes I’ve seen here yet!) My husband and I love Thai food but I wasn’t sure what kind of seasonings to even look for, so this helps. And now I want to try making my own chile paste, too :-). Thanks for sharing!

    1. Tes says:

      It’s good to try to make homemade paste! When the result, comes you will feel so pround.

  9. richannkur says:

    Tes you are superb… i m a pure vegetarian so i cant try your recipe, but i should thank you for showing me how a cashew nut grows. And Eno that i have used is a type of citric acid used for fermentation.

    1. Tes says:

      My neighbor is vegetarian, I made them this dish by substitue chicken with tofu or paneer and don’t use fish sauce- use salt or organic soy sauce instead. Thanks for visiting and keep posting yummy recipes.

  10. nancyc says:

    That sound really good! I’ll have to try that!

  11. lollcakes says:

    Sounds delicious! Thanks for the recipe Tes, I’ll be trying it tomorrow night. 🙂

  12. kbarkakati says:

    Amazing Tes! I think it will go well with my creamy yoghurt.. YUMMMM can’t wait to try it!

    http://coloredgrains.wordpress.com

    1. Tes says:

      Yes, it will go well, and also we can have those gooey jam muffins later 🙂

      1. kbarkakati says:

        Ummmmm 🙂

  13. This is my hubby’s favorite. May have to surprise him one day soon!

  14. Fabulous post! We have plenty of resources to buy the paste here, but now I’m inspired to try making it just for fun. Thank you.

    1. Tes says:

      You should try it. Homemade paste is always the best!

  15. Cowhead Cow says:

    Thank you for the comment. But your blog is clearly the better one 🙂 Everything you post looks so fresh and delicious! I need to start cooking more and taking pictures. Keep it up!

    1. Tes says:

      Thanks for visiting. I hope we can share more recipes.

  16. Rice Palette says:

    This looks wonderful! You have great photos to show each step along the way. This is the first cashew nut stir-fry I’ve come across in a while, so I’m definitely bookmarking this! :0)

    1. Tes says:

      Thanks for commenting. I love your blog, too.

  17. incidentalcooksuman says:

    WOW…love the first pic…superb…

    Tes, thanks for sharing this easy and delicious chicken n cashews stir fry recipe…will definitely goin to try this one soon…looks so inviting…

    1. Tes says:

      I hope you like it. Thanks for visiting today 🙂

  18. Holy Batman, this looks delicious! The hubster and I are huge fans of Thai food but have never had this. I must make it soon (like tonight soon) 🙂

    1. Tes says:

      It’s very easy to make. Try and you will love it. Thanks for commenting.

  19. kaztronomic says:

    I love cashew nuts! I think they’re my favorite nut, actually.

    That looks really delicious. Thank you for the recipe!

  20. Nicole says:

    Thanks for the blog love! That dish looks amazing! The red chilies make my nose run just looking at them….yumm!

  21. Lacey says:

    Looks good and interesting. I’ve never seen an actual cashew growing on a tree before. Is the fruit that grows on top of the nut used for anything?

    1. Tes says:

      Yes, You can eat it. Some people extract the juice to make liqour, too. But before you wanna try it, you need to check for allergy first. Do you know that cashew nut trees is the same family of poison ivy!

  22. 2mannasisters says:

    That looks delicious, Tes! Thanks for sharing. Where do you get those ingredients? What part of the country are you in?

  23. wow i am grt fan of thai food this one sounds delicious..and seems very easy to prepare. i used to do the pad thai varieties..sure try this stir fry too..
    nice blog u have.

  24. limelicious says:

    Tes, thanks for the comment! I’m going to have so much fun looking around your blog at all these Indian and Thai recipes, yum!

    I knew cashews weren’t really nuts, or were different than other nuts in some way, but I’ve never seen a picture of them on the plant- how cool! I haven’t bought fish sauce or chili paste yet because my boyfriend loves his American food, but I love food with an Asian influence- as well as cashews- so I may have to try this!!

    By the way, your son is adorable =)

    1. Tes says:

      I hope you buy some fish sauce and chili paste and other Asian ingredients, so it will be easy for you to try many Asian dishes. Try making your boyfriends nice Asian dishes, he might feel different! Come on… we bought a lot of mayonaise, cheese and ketchup, too

  25. Mimi says:

    Tes, this looks so delicious. I love cashews, they are my favorite!

    I have a question. Is your curry paste similar to red curry paste? I have an asian store nearby and it would be easier and less expensive for me to just by a packaged paste.

    1. Tes says:

      It is not the same thing. Red curry paste normally uses for curry, and this paste is good for stir fry. But if you go to Asian grocery store, it should be available. Normaly it is in the jar, dark and almost black in color with oil floating on the surface. It’s called “Nam Prik Poa” in Thai. Here’s how it’s look http://www.gourmetsleuth.com/images/thai-chile-paste.jpg.

      Red curry paste is a wonderful ingredient, too. I will poste the recipe for that later.

      1. Mimi says:

        Thanks Tes. I’ll look for Nam Prik Poa instead.

        1. Tes says:

          I’m glad you have the access to Nam Prik Poa. I hope you like the recipe.

  26. quinnlovescali says:

    That chile paste would be awesome to have on hand. Do you think it would freeze well, maybe in an ice-cube trey?

    1. Tes says:

      Don’t freeze it in the ice-tray. Better put them in ziploc or plastic bag and freeze. But what I usually do is just put it in the jar and it can be stored in refrigerator up to a 2-3 months.

  27. yum yum yum! Your blog is giving me lots of ideas too, like putting pictures of step by step. I’ll definitely favorite your blog!

    1. Tes says:

      Thanks for commenting, I am looking forward to seeing more delicious recipes from your blog.

  28. I;ve never cooked with cashews before. I will definitely try this!

  29. bonne_santé says:

    This is great – I’ve never seen the cashew nut fruit before!

  30. Tes, this looks like a great recipe. I can’t wait to make it for my family! Thanks for sharing.
    Jane

  31. leeswammes says:

    Tes, it’s really nice to see the cashew nuts on the tree. I’ve never seen that before, I had no idea that they grow like that.

    Do you use “fresh” cashew nuts? We normally get them “burned”, i.e. ready to eat, usually salted too (but I can get unsalted, and maybe also untreated cashew nuts).

    You mention frying the chili, do you mean red chilies of the vegetable kind? They’re not in your list of ingredients so I’m a little confused. And wondering how spicy that is going to be…. 🙂

    1. Tes says:

      Thank you so much to point that out to me. I’ve forgot to list dried red chilies in my ingredients. Yes, you fry dried red chili in medium heat oil until they lightly burn. This won’t make it spicy at all because we don’t crack the chili open. It’s for flavouring the oil and presentation. I’ve updated the recipe now 🙂
      You won’t be able to get fresh cashew nuts unless you visit the plantation or from the cashew nut trees. But it doesn’t matter, we don’t know what to do with them. Cashew nut we used is from dried cashew nut. The cashew nut fruits, on the other hand, is very wonderful fresh healthy eatable fruits which people don’t know about. But before you try this fruit, you have to check for allergy first. Believe it or not cashew nut tree is from the same family of poison ivy.

      1. leeswammes says:

        Oh, so you don’t eat the chilies? I see.

        I didn’t know anything about cashew nuts, that’s clear. My son (13 years) and I looked at the pictures and wondered about the fruit. It looked like something you can eat, and now you say, yes, you can. I’ve never heard about that. Such a pity we don’t get food like that over here!

        1. Tes says:

          As far as I know cashew nut doesn’t grow in USA, but I think somewhere in green house for research, it will be available. So whenever you visit tropical countries, don’t forget to look for it. It’s really amazing tree.

  32. Looks amazing. Love those long dried red chillies

  33. buttercup600 says:

    My favourite also:)…..and guess what I made tonight!??
    Great minds think alike!! xx

    1. Tes says:

      Let me know how it go….

Leave a Reply

