Thai Chicken Salad

Hi friends,

 Homewarming has moved to new home here.

(http://tesathome.com/)

Thanks,
Tes

I remember how it was….. Every family in the village cooked up this recipe during the festival with their favourite red meat along with smoky BBQ and Thai laksa noodles. The sight of family and friends gather around sat on the floor and enjoyed the fabulous feast was the warmest scene in my memory. I grew up loving this and cooking this.

This meaty spicy salad is one of family special. It is really easy to make and quick. It is wonderful with rice or in lettuce wrap.

Thai Chicken Salad

Ingredients: (4 servings)

300 gm chicken- minced or chopped into small pieces

6-8 shallots- thinly sliced

2 lemon grass- finely chopped (use only the white part) – optional

3 cloves garlic- minced

1/4 tsp salt

2 tbsp chili flake (or adjust to your taste)

1 tbsp ground roasted raw sticky rice- optional

1 tsp sugar

1 tbsp fish sauce or to taste

2 tbsp lime juice

1 cucumber- peeled and thinly sliced

A handful of mints- chopped

2 scallions- finely chopped

1/2 cup water

Add 1/2 cup of water, garlic and salt and bring to boil.

Once the water is boiling add chicken and cook until the chicken is done and all liquid evaporate away. Transfer chicken into the mixing bowl.

When the chicken is warm, add chili flake, ground roasted raw sticky rice, sugar, lime juice and fish sauce.

Add sliced cucumber, lemon grass and shallot then mix well.

Add mint and scallion, and then roughly stir.

Check for seasoning and the chicken salad is ready!

We love it with rice and mushroom curry.

Hi friends,

 Homewarming has moved to new home here.

(http://tesathome.com/)

Thanks,
Tes

22 Comments Add yours

  1. arkonite says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Your recipes look wonderful, I will be sure to try this one especially 🙂

  2. Jessi says:

    This sounds delicious. And, its within my diet restrictions. I’m going to have to give this recipe a try!

  3. s says:

    Thanks for visiting my space..and Im so glad u did so I have found this beautiful warm space you have. Bookmarking you…love your blog..
    http://forkbootsandapalette.wordpress.com

  4. Good one for when on a diet…. 🙂

  5. tes thats a nice salad and the platter the salad and soup looks so delicious.. i like the salad with chicken
    happy that i can find very delicious thai dish from ur space ..really happy

  6. jeffreyww says:

    Wonderful looking blog, Tes! Great looking food and the photos are fabulous.

  7. pantry2plate says:

    All of your recipes look amazing! I am especially fond of the Thai Chicken Salad and can’t wait to give it a try. Please keep them coming!

  8. Nicole says:

    Gorgeous! The flavors sound wonderful! I think I’d have some trouble finding that ground sticky rice, but otherwise…good to go! Mmm!

  9. Tammy McLeod says:

    I like the way your new blog looks and I also like the recipe. Thanks for sharing.

  10. kaztronomic says:

    That looks really healthy and fresh, the perfect summer dinner! 😀

  11. incidentalcooksuman says:

    oh, wow…such a healthy and delicious looking chicken salad..so refreshing..perfect for hot summer days…

  12. Joshua says:

    I came here through Lulu’s site – very impressive! Such delicious-looking food!

    -Josh, http://joshintaiwan.com

  13. voicesinmyhead says:

    Loooove this recipe, Tes! Going to make it soon and will stop by and tell you how it turned out! Thanks!

  14. Sarah - For the Love of Food says:

    Hi Tes

    I love the new look blog site! Looks very professional. This recipe looks delicious. I adore Thai food!

  15. alou says:

    Wow, it looks so goooood!

  16. Loll says:

    I love mint in salads. Thanks Tes, I’ve been looking for some good salad recipes.

  17. Oh my goodness! Your recipes look AMAZING! I came over here from Leeswammes’ Blog after you commented on my guest post about Asian American authors! I am so glad I stopped by. The food you make looks so tasty. I will definitely have to try some of this stuff.

    1. leeswammes says:

      Yes, I’m a great fan of Tes’ beautiful blog. I love her recipes and the wonderful pictures.

      1. Tes says:

        Thanks for your comment, Judith. The first post of bookbloggers program is awesome!

    2. Tes says:

      Thanks for stopping by. I’ve just visit your site, too. But it looks like you haven’t updated anything yet! I am so fascinated by your background and the books you suggest are so amazing! I wish we will have a lot to share soon.

Leave a Reply

