Fish with Dill curry

Hi friends,

 Homewarming has moved to new home here.

(http://tesathome.com/)

Thanks,
Tes

I had a very heavy dinner last night, we had the World Cup snacks and I munched on a whole bag of potato chip. I was upset with my weight and how I felt so tired and lazy. Though Yaseen really want me to bake some cookies or muffins but all I needed was a few more hours of sleep. We ended up giving the sad Yaseen grilled cheese sandwich instead. I make myself a light coffee and that was all I could effort for breakfast.

I remember my mom told me how dill is fortifying, anti spasmodic and helping in removing the toxic substances form the body. I used to make smoothie out of it before and it wasn’t pretty. It’s about lunch and the clock was ticking. I had a bunch of dill in my hand…

I learned this recipe when I was young. I had never tried it on fish before, but I really didn’t have mood for chicken today. We wanted light and healthy curry with some rice. This is a Northeast Thailand style fish curry with dill. We usually served it with sticky rice but I found it equally wonderful with jasmine rice or rice vermicelli.

Fish and Dill curry

Ingredients: (4 servings)

300 gm Fish (any firm fresh fish like king fish, pomfret, catfish, etc.)

2 smooth luffa- sliced

A bunch of dill- sliced into 2 inches long

2 stalks lemon grass- white part sliced

8 shallots- peeled

1/2 whole garlic- peeled

1-2 red chili (or less if you like it mild)

2-3 tbsp fish sauce or to taste

1 tsp sugar

Add lemon grass, shallots, garlic and chili in the blender and roughly blend it to paste.

Heat 1 1/2 cups of water in the pot, add the paste, sugar and fish sauce. Bring to boil and cook for few minutes.

Slice luffa add to the pot.

Stir and cook until the luffa is soften.

Add fish and gently stir. Simmer for 5 minutes or fish is cooked thoroughly.

Add dill and gently stir. Once dill is lightly soften, turn off the heat and serve.

It’s fresh and healthy! I’m feeling better already!

Hi friends,

 Homewarming has moved to new home here.

(http://tesathome.com/)

Thanks,
Tes

9 Comments Add yours

  1. diabetes says:

    In the later phase of Lyme condition, an inflammatory response
    happens that advances towards the joints, as reported by the American Lyme Disease Association. Why
    do lost souls or dark energy feed off of a host, you might ask.
    The most common cause to people under the
    age of 50 is a head trauma.

  2. Looks gorgeous! Love how you photograph every step. Stunning 🙂

  3. vincent says:

    Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

    1. Tes says:

      Thanks for the invitation. I would love to join this amazing community 🙂

  4. buhayasian says:

    This recipe looks looks so refreshing with the combination of lemongrass and dill added to fish. I have to try this one. Thanks for the recipe!

  5. lifeinarecipe says:

    I’m looking forward to trying this recipe when my dill in the garden is ready to be picked. It does look really refreshing and nutritious! We love the combination of fish and dill…thanks again for another great recipe for me to try!

  6. Theresa says:

    Oh my goodness does that look good! We will be having lots of fish and dill in the future, so I will definitely have to keep this in mind. I really love how it looks in the end.

  7. Loll says:

    YUM! Dill goes wonderfully with fish, what a delicious idea!

  8. zoomyummy says:

    Mmmm, I love dill and your dish looks wonderful. Oh, and thank you for the interesting facts about dill – I didn’t know them really. 🙂 Petra

Leave a Reply

